Write Anyway!

I have dreamt of writing a book for about as long as I can remember but have done little to make it happen thus far.

On Wednesday, I took what I consider a giant leap toward that goal and joined a meetup group for writers. I figured it was time to put myself out there, and that if it totally bombed it only cost me $5 and I didn’t have to go back.

The format of the group involves the organizer reading a prompt followed by quiet, uninterrupted writing for about 30-45 minutes. I’m not exactly sure of the length, as we weren’t allowed to have our cell phones on. Lastly, each person has the opportunity to share what they wrote, without critique or judgment.

There are actual writing rules for the group. Or rather, the rule is that there are no rules. They were adapted from Natalie Goldberg’s work The Wild Mind and added to over the years by practitioners.

The rules are as follows:

1. Keep your hand moving. Remember the writing hand is the creator. The other hand is the editor. If you keep the creating hand moving, the editing hand can’t get a word in edgewise. This is important for writing practice. It gives the creator more space to create. The editor has no place in writing practice.

2. Lose control. Say what you want to say. Forget about structure, rules and being nice. The more you lose control the more authentic your writing becomes. Go for it, then go for some more.

3. Be specific. By naming things, you are more deeply in the present. You honor people, places and things by naming them. The more specific your description, the more life your writing has. Picture to detail, especially as you perceive it through your five senses and write it down.

4. Don’t think. First thoughts hold the truth. First thoughts are unencumbered by ego. Write them. Second thoughts are caution, editing, considering, rethinking. Go with the first flash of truth.

5. Don’t worry about spelling, punctuation, grammar or syntax. In fact, don’t worry about anything, just write.

6. You are free to write the worst junk in America. Some days you will, and some days you will write something really wonderful, and some days you will just write.

7. Go for the jugular. If something scary comes up go for it, that’s where the energy is. Write through your tears, your anger, all those fears. Go for the real stuff, if you don’t you will be tiptoeing about whatever your real stuff is. You wont believe it and neither will your readers.

8. Date your page. This keeps you grounded in the present and helps you reference pieces you might want to use in something else.

9. The unwritten rule: don’t apologize.

10. Assume its fiction, don’t ask.

11. Remember to breathe.

Sounds pretty good to me. I thought I was going to get a pass as it was my first week, but even I was asked to share what I had written. Yikes! It was challenging to silence my inner critic that thought the writing was a piece of crap compared to the others in the group, but I read it anyway. I survived. Phew! I am going to give it another go next Wednesday and see what happens.

© Margaret Lennon 2016

Leave a comment